UPSC coaching in Bangalore - KRISHNA WATER DISPUTE


What is an ILP, exactly:

  • It is a document that non-natives must have in order to visit or stay in a state protected by the ILP system.
  • Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Manipur, and Nagaland are the four Northeastern states now covered. For entry into Lakshadweep, an inner line permit is also required.
  • The ILP determines both the length of stay and the locations that non-natives are permitted to visit.
  • The ILP is issued by the state government in question and can be obtained either online or in person.
  • Only domestic tourists are eligible for an ILP.


The reason behind this is that:

  • The Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation Act of 1873 is extended by the Inner Line Permit.
  • Following the British occupation of the Northeast, colonists began exploiting the region and its resources for financial gain.
  • In the Brahmaputra Valley, they first established tea plantations and oil businesses.
  • The indigenous tribes of the hills would raid the plains on a regular basis, looting and plundering the tea plantations, oil rigs, and trading facilities established by the British East India Company.
  • The BEFR 1873 was enacted in this context.

Source: THE HNDU.