Vice President of India

Vice President of India

Vice President of India


  • The President of India, Smt Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of Office of Vice President of India to ShriJagdeep Dhankhar at a Swearing-in-Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.


  • The Vice President occupies the second highest office in the country.
  • Article 63 of the Constitution states that “there shall be a Vice-President of India”.

How is the Vice President elected?

  • Article 66 – It says the Vice-President “shall be elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote and the voting at such election shall be by secret ballot”.
  • Electoral College consists of 233 elected members of Rajya Sabha, 12 nominated members of Rajya Sabha, and 543 elected members of Lok Sabha, adding up to 788 members.
  • The electoral college consists of both elected and nominated members of the parliament but in Presidential elections only elected members are present.
  • It does not include the members of the State Legislative Assemblies as in the case of Presidential elections.
Qualifications –
  • He should be a citizen of India
  • He should have completed 35 years of age
  • He should be qualified to be a member of Rajya Sabha
  • He should not hold any office of profit under the Union Government or any State Government.
  • Term – 5 years
  • He can resign from the office at any given point of time addressing the resignation to the President.
  • Removal – A formal impeachment is not required for his removal.
  • He can be removed by a resolution of the Rajya Sabha passed by an absolute majority and agreed by the Lok Sabha.


Source – PIB

       For more updates, Click Here